Beukes, Lill set the pace in Kaapsehoop

The Ashburton Investments National MTB Series has taken over the quaint town of Kaapsehoop this weekend. Situated 1586m above sea level on the Highveld escarpment, this mountain village is making for an epic season finale. For the first time in the popular mountain bike series, riders cross the finish line on a mountain top.

The first stage of the event had all eyes on Team Pyga Euro Steel’s Philip Buys and Matthys Beukes who have entered into an epic battle for the series title. A lot is at stake for the mountain biking heroes, who took their place at the Kaapsehoop start line today with less than a 200 point different on the series standings.

It was Beukes who came out on top for the first stage of the event, with Buys taking second.  Beukes did not fail to live up to his climbing abilities, and was a tough competitor to beat. He tackled the day’s 1600m elevation gain with ease, and widened the gap on his teammate on the final climb to the finish line.

“It was a challenging route, with a nice big climb at the end. I felt like I was riding in Europe somewhere! I want to do a lot more races like this. We’ll see what happens tomorrow, but I’ll be happy either one of us win,” said Beukes.

With marathon champion Nico Bell and his Team NAD Pro teammate, Gawie Combrinck out of the mix, it was HB Kruger and Waylon Woolcock who presented the next greatest threat. The BXCC riders finished third and fourth respectively.

With the in-form Robyn de Groot and San Sanders absent from the event, it was Candice Lill (Dormakaba) who completely dominated the women’s category.

“The conditions were tough today! I got away on the Strava segment, really enjoyed those 3km. I just want to break away and ride my own race tomorrow,”said Lill.

Trailing behind her was Yolandi du Toit, who conquered the strenuous route in a true ‘never say die’ attitude to finish in second, and Dalene van der Leek, who finished in third.

For more results visit

Full Marathon – men

1 Matthys Beukes (Team Pyga Euro Steel) 2:41:13
2 Philip Buys (Team Pyga Euro Steel) 2:43:27
3 HB Kruger (Team BCX) 2:51:40
4 Waylon Woolcock (Team BCX) 2:52:55
5 Shaun Nick-Bester 2:53:43

Full Marathon – women

1 Candice Lill (Dormakaba) 3:13:01
2 Yolandi du Toit (Garmin) 3:23:54
3 Dalene van der Leek 3:51:23
4 Janice Venter 3:58:55
5 Melanie Roux 4:04:47


 The  breathtaking forest trails at the 2017 Ashburton Investments National MTB Series Kaapsehoop. Credit:



Elite lady riders Phillip Buys, Matthys Beukes and HB Kruger. Credit:



Elite lady riders Yolandi Du Toit and Candice Lill. Credit: